In Action

Richard Ruan (MS '18)

Future Physician-Scientist: Congratulations to Richard Ruan, MS ‘18, for being selected as a Berkeley Haas Scholar for his academic and community achievements. Each year, twenty highly qualified, academically talented undergraduates with financial need are selected to come together to build a supportive intellectual community during their final year at UC Berkeley. As a Haas Scholar, Richard's senior year project will be identifying host factors critical for dengue virus NS1 and SARS-CoV-2 Spike pathogeneses. Congratulations again, Ruan! We are excited to see all that will emerge from your work!

Joelle Simpson (MS '95)

Leadership in a Time of Crisis: Congratulations to Dr. Joelle Simpson, MS ‘95, for being promoted to Chief of Emergency Medicine at Children’s National Hospital in Washington D.C.! Dr. Simpson was named interim chief earlier in 2020, and she will continue the critical work of overseeing the daily operations of the pediatric emergency department. As the COVID-19 pandemic continues, we cannot think of anyone better suited for the role in this moment. Congratulations, again, Dr. Joelle Simpson! 

Julie Lee (MS '07)

Future Healthcare Leader: Congratulations to Julie Lee, MS ‘07, for being selected as a Future Physician Leader in the national HVPAA. With the support of HVPAA, she will be focusing on improving crossmatched to transfused blood product ratio with purposeful education and EMR informatics change within the Riverside County health system. We are excited to continue learning from your leadership and work!

Dennis Ojogho (MS '12)

Champion for Justice: Dennis Ojogho, MS ‘12, recently received the inaugural Gants Access to Justice Award in recognition of his exemplary work in housing law with the Harvard Legal Aid Bureau. Named after the late Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court Chief Justice Ralph D. Gants, Harvard Law School ‘80, the award recognizes a student who is dedicated to and has a proven track record of working to eliminate systemic barriers to justice. Congratulations, Dennis! We are inspired by your leadership in helping to create a better world!

Zoe Hsu (MS '20)

Campus Leader: The Yale College community recently elected Zoe Hsu, MS '20, as the next Yale College Council (YCC) Vice President. YCC is Yale's student government. Zoe and her running mate campaigned on a platform of "building a healthier Yale" and continuing the fight for equitable change. Congratulations, Zoe! We are excited to see you continue your powerful and needed advocacy in this new position!

Tresha Gibbs (MS '98)

Power of Empathy: Dr. Tresha Gibbs, MS '98, published an essay in the Milken Institute's Power of Ideas collection on the importance of centering empathy and equity in rebuilding our mental health care system in order to improve access for people who are too often left behind because their struggles are out of sight. The Milken Institute's Power of Ideas series brings together a diverse group of influencers and global leaders to convey their thoughts on building meaningful lives, driving shared prosperity, and more. Congratulations, Dr. Gibbs, and check out her important essay here.

Jorge Campos Franco (MS '17)

Trailblazer: Congratulations to Jorge Campos Franco, MS '17, for receiving the Dr. John R. Hubbard Recognition Award in recognition of his groundbreaking medical research and deep commitment to ensuring healthcare accessibility in underserved communities. The USC Latino Alumni Association bestows this honor at their annual Scholarship Gala to an outstanding undergraduate Latino student on their overall record of academics, leadership, and community service. Congratulations again, Jorge, and continue leading the way!

Joelle Simpson (MS '95)

Awards Night: Congratulations to Dr. Joelle Simpson, MS '95, who received the Washington Woman of Excellence 2021Award from Washington D.C., Mayor Muriel Bowser's Office on Women's Policy and Initiatives (MOWPI).  The award honors District women who have shown, "dedication, impact and excellence in the areas of health and wellness, civic engagement and women’s empowerment," which describes Dr. Simpson's leadership as Medical Director of Emergency Preparedness at Children's National during the COVID-19 Pandemic perfectly.  Way to go!

Sarah Hsu (MS '13)

Environmental Health: Sarah Hsu, MS ’13, is successfully balancing a busy schedule as a medical student at Brown University with raising awareness about the impact of environmental damage to public health. Last year, Sarah published an article at World War Zero, an international net- zero emissions advocacy group.  This year she helped to launch a Podcast, “Code Green: The Climate-Smart Health Professional” which she co-hosts. 

Justin Hogenauer (MS '18)

National Security Matter: Justin Hogenauer, MS '18, is a recipient of the 2021 National Security Education Program (NSEP) David L. Boren Scholarship, administered by the Institute of International Education.  The scholarship will allow him to study Thai Language in Bangkok as part of his degree.  The Boren scholarships is meant to support language and cultural learning of future public servants, to strengthen the Federal Workforce. Congratulations on this honor Justin!